Antelope Valley School District

Athletics

Philosophy of the Knight High School Athletic Program
 
Knight interscholastic athletic competition strives to demonstrate high ethical standards and sportsmanship. Knight believes the highest potential of sports is achieved when participants are committed to pursuing victory with honor according to five core principles: positive, respect, integrity, discipline, and excellence. This Code applies to all student-athletes, coaches, parents, and staff.
 
All Knight athletic programs must be congruent with Knight High School’s academic goals and objectives established for the intellectual, physical, social, and moral development of our students. Knight teams place academic achievement as the highest priority. We show respect for teammates, opponents, officials, and coaches, as well as the integrity and judgment of game officials. Knight exhibits fair play, sportsmanship, and proper conduct on and off the playing field both by adhering to the established rules and standards of the game to be played, and by refraining from the use of profanity, vulgarity, and other offensive language and gestures. We maintain a high level of safety awareness through respect for and use of all appropriate equipment and use it safely and appropriately. Knight athletes refrain from the use of alcohol, tobacco, illegal and non-prescriptive drugs, or any substance to increase physical development or performance. 

Fall Sports (August-November)

Sport

Coach

Email

Girls Volleyball

Brandon Bell

andrew.bell@avhsd.org

Girls Tennis

Connie Stockemer

CStockemer@avhsd.org

Girls Golf

Danny Henderson

dlhenderson@avhsd.org

Cross Country

Daniel St.Andrew dstandrew@avhsd.org

Football

Chance Tapia

Ctapia@avhsd.org

 

Winter Sports (November- February)

Sport

Coach

Email

Boys Basketball

Tom Hegre

Thegre@avhsd.org

Girls Basketball

Danny Henderson

dlhenderson@avhsd.org

Boys Soccer

Baltazar Mendez

bfutbol10@yahoo.com

Girls Soccer

Melvin Valladares

melvin.valladares@avhsd.org

Wrestling

Joe Susilla

jsusilla@avhsd.org

 

Spring Sports(February – June)

Sport

Coach

Email

Swimming

Jeanette Hjelm

jrhjelm@avhsd.org

Track & Field

Michael Derby

greenderb@sbcglobal.net

Softball

Tammy Zimmardi

tzimmardi@avhsd.org

Baseball

Shaun Bell

sbell@avhsd.org

Boys Volleyball

Joe Susilla

jsusilla@ahsd.org

Boys Golf

Danny Henderson

dlhenderson@avhsd.org

Boys Tennis

James Jutila

jjutila@avhsd.org

 

Each athlete must register on athleticclearance.com, have at least a 2.0 GPA, and a physical evaluation document (Blue Card) on file with the KHS Athletic Office in order to participate in any sport.

KHS Athlete and Parent Handbook